Jannicke Mellin-Olsen president i WFSA

We are delighted to announce that Dr Jannicke Mellin-Olsen has assumed the Presidency of the WFSA, taking over from Dr Gonzalo Barreiro who completed his two year term at the end of August 2018.

Jannicke will serve for the period September 2018 to September 2020.

Dr Jannicke Mellin-Olsen is a full-time practising anaesthesiologist in Bærum Hospital, Norway. She has always been active in organisations in addition to her clinical work and has held several Board positions in Norway and abroad. Jannicke has been President of the European Board of Anaesthesiology/UEMS where she led the process of developing the Helsinki Declaration on Patient Safety in Anaesthesiology, and she was also the secretary of the European Society of Anaesthesiology until January 2018. She has always had a “global drive”, holds a Diploma in Public Health and is dedicated to improving access to safe anaesthesia around the world.

“Being the President of an organisation like the WFSA is a big honour, but also a big responsibility. In a world where five out of seven billion people do not have access to safe, timely and affordable anaesthesia and surgery, anaesthesiologists cannot expect anyone other than ourselves to lead the way. In high, middle and low-income countries alike, we are uniting anaesthesiologists for the betterment of patient care.”

It has been a pleasure to have Dr Gonzalo Barreiro serving as President, and he will remain on the WFSA Board as Immediate Past President. Under his leadership the WFSA has gone from strength to strength, leading the way in global anaesthesia education, training and advocacy and growing in both influence and activity. The WFSA is indebted to Gonzalo for his outstanding voluntary service. His commitment since 1992 when he first joined as a member of the Safety Committee is exemplary and we thank him for his dedication and hard work in the role of President during his term.


WFSA looks forward to seeing you all in Prague in September 2020 for the World Congress of Anaesthesiologists.