Facts about the Norwegian Medical Association

Founded 1886
Legenes hus fasade. Foto: Legeforeningen
Asklepios logo

Total number of members 
About 39 762 members(january 2023).

Executive Committee (9 members)
County Divisions (19)
Occupational branches (7)
Medical societies (46)
Specialty Branches (19)
Norwegian Association of Medical Students

President: Anne Karin Rime
Vice-President: Nils Kristian Klev

Chair ofthe Medical Ethics Council: Svein Aarseth
Secretary General: Siri Skumlien

The secretariat is charged with the day-to-day operations of the NMA; headed by the Secretary General it has some 130 full-time staff members.

The Secretary General´s staff
Department of Public Affairs and Health Policies
Department of Professional Affairs
Department of Negotiations and Health Care Law
The Research Institute of the Norwegian Medical Association
The Journal of the Norwegian Medical Association
Department of Financial Affairs and Administration

The Norwegian Medical Association (NMA)
P.O. Box 1152 Sentrum
NO-0107 Oslo
Phone: + 47 23 10 90 00
Fax: + 47 23 10 90 10
Office address: Christiania torv 5